Posted on

Waiting (Im)patiently For My Book Order To Arrive.

I agree with the late Christopher Hitchens who said, “Patience is a highly overrated virtue”.

I used to have patience.  If someone had asked me when I was in my twenties what I thought my best trait was, without hesitation I would have said patience.  But, life and experience have sucked 99.99% of my patience, and resilience, away.  I think the two are connected somehow.

Anyway, I’ve learned that my book order cleared Canadian Customs on Wednesday, March 27th.  It is my fervent hope that the UPS truck will arrive sometime during  this coming week.  Then, plans can be made for the modest book launch of “Thaumaturge”.

On Amazon, the ad says they have one copy left, but more are on order.  I was touched by that, but then my doubting gremlin said maybe they only had that one copy to begin with.  😉

I hope you all have had a good weekend.  For those of the Christian faith, I hope you had a peaceful and re-energizing weekend, and that the Easter Bunny was good to the kids.

Salus et vita.

About sfummerton

You may be familiar with the expression, "It's never too late". Well, I might be living proof of it. I hope to have a novel published in the next two-to-three months. I didn't start writing it until I was in my fifties because of a germ/seed that was planted in my imagination after an attempted mugging/assault decades ago. The experience gave me a great appreciation for the amazing strength of adrenalin. This blog will allow me to talk about my experience as a newbie writer who self-published because I was concerned about how much time I might have left, and because I deal with both chronic pecuniary strangulation and chronic health issues. ;) But, the blog will also be a place where I can post thoughts about issues that concern me. Human trafficking is one of them. That's why I made my antogonist in the soon-to-be-in-print novel "Thaumaturge" a trafficker. He's not involved with organized criminal gangs, either domestic or foreign, but he is an opportunist who understands that big bucks can be made in modern-day slavery, especially in sex-trafficking of underage kids. The growth of human trafficking due to many causes which can be traced back to simple survival concerns me because it preys on the most desperate and vulnerable human beings who have no resources to rely on. Try to imagine how that feels. There are more human slaves on our planet now than at any time in human history. That's deplorable and disgraceful. We're classified as Homo sapiens, which means, wise man in Latin. Uh-huh. So, I'm a leftie, not a rightie, and I'm not referring to my handedness. I think this planet would be better off following Buddhist economics. No, I am not a Buddhist. I call myself a devout agnostic. But, the huge discrepany between the wealthiest on this planet, and everybody else, is simply obscene. I love books and movies and music. I like most music genres, but my favourite since childhood has been film scores. I admire so many of the talented composers and musicians working in that genre because of the discipline involved. The fact that so many of them can create such evocative, effective and beautiful music just blows me away.

Leave a Reply

